iOS 6, Assistive Touch & Auto Lock not working

If you have noticed the Auto Lock not working with iOS 6, there is a workaround.

The issue seems to be with the Assistive Touch; I use Assistive Touch on my iPhone to extend the life of the home button. When I use Assistive Touch to return me to my home screen I have noticed the Auto Lock does not work, the screen stays on.

There are a few workarounds:

1. My preferred option is to use Assistive Touch to return to the home screen and then (this is critical), place a finger on a part of the home screen and give the screen a wiggle or a swipe. The Auto Lock screen will then function as normal (Go ahead, test it out! – The important thing is, do not use the Assistive Touch to return to the home screen as your last action).

2. Alternatively, leave an app open. The Auto Lock will kick in as normal (again, test it out).

Be great if Apple could fix this bug.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to iOS 6, Assistive Touch & Auto Lock not working

  1. Emma says:

    Thanks for this!
    I just downloaded iOS6 today now that google have released a maps app, and then found that this was a problem. No one else I knew was having the same issue, but my home button is broken so I’ve been using assistive touch for some time.
    This is pretty annoying, hope Apple get it sorted!

  2. fmtrading says:

    Thanks for the feedback Emma. I’ve also noticed another problem is that if I leave an app open in landscape mode autolock does not seem to kick in then either.

    • Emma says:

      Ah, that’s interesting, although not a problem I’ve encountered as I switch off the ability to flip things round to landscape mode. I wonder what’s the easiest way to file these kind of bug reports with Apple?

  3. Cristina Callejo says:

    Tina

    Fantastic option 1! It worked. Thank you.

    But I do hope Apple does something about it.

Leave a Reply

